Artificial Intelligence
Please fill the required field.

Fourteen Points definition

and summary The Fourteen Points were a set of principles outlined by U.S. President Woodrow Wilson in a speech to Congress on January 8, 1918. These points were intended as a plan for post-World War I peace and were based on Wilson's belief in the self-determination of nations, free trade, freedom of the seas, disarmament, and the creation of a League of Nations. The main points of the Fourteen Points were: 1. Open diplomacy (end to secret treaties) 2. Freedom of the seas 3. Free trade 4. Arms reduction 5. Fair colonial policies 6. Creation of Belgium 7. Evacuation of occupied territories in France, Belgium, and Russia 8. Restoration of territories in Russia, Romania, and Serbia 9. Creation of an independent Poland 10. Formation of a League of Nations 11. Respect for national boundaries and self-determination of peoples 12. Protection of ethnic minorities 13. Redrawing of borders in Europe according to national identity and claims 14. Limitation of armaments. The Fourteen Points were widely viewed as a progressive and idealistic plan for peace, but they faced opposition from European leaders. Some of the points were eventually included in the Treaty of Versailles, but many were not fully implemented. Nevertheless, the Fourteen Points had a major impact on international relations and laid the foundation for the first attempt at a global organization for peace, the League of Nations.